GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Joining a new sorority on campus (Advice) (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=129798)

shirellestar 10-04-2012 01:11 AM

Joining a new sorority on campus (Advice)

Hi! So here's my story (Sorry for Length, lol, if you want you can just skip to the questions):

I'm a freshman at UNLV and I recently went through formal recruitment at my university. however my story as to why I'm not in sorority right now is a little different. There are 6 (soon to be 7) sororities at UNLV and because of work, I had to miss some of recruitment. On the first day I only got to see 4 of the 7 sororities. I still ranked the 4 I saw but I was kinda hesitant because I knew I was missing some.

The next day of recruitment, I only got called back to 2 sororities. Ironically, one of the 2 I got called back for was one I didn't get to go to the first night, but I thought whatever and just went with it. The other one I got called back for was one I really liked and was my favorite.

Preference day, I only got called back to one and ironically it wasn't the one I wanted. I still went to the other sororities ceremony but I felt deep down that I knew this group wasn't right for me. So with that in mind, I made the hard decision to drop out right before Bid Day. I don't know if this should be noted but the sorority did offer me a bid after I dropped out, but I still politely declined the bid (No point in taking away something from another girl who may really want it)

I really wanted to be in a sorority but it just didn't feel right to kinda settle and just join one so I could be in a sorority. I felt bad that I missed the other 3 because of work, and just thought I should wait until sophomore year.