GreekChat.com Forums

GreekChat.com Forums (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/index.php)
-   Fraternity Recruitment (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/forumdisplay.php?f=218)
-   -   Rejected (http://www.greekchat.com/gcforums/showthread.php?t=95325)

fonuconk 04-10-2008 08:45 AM

Rejected

My university breaks down into trimesters, I recently rushed for a fraternity and recieved a bid. Then a few days later I got a call from my pledgemaster saying that they had a meeting and some of the older brothers were not there for the bidding and wanted me to "party with them to get to know them better" and rush again in the fall. Does this normally happen? Any advice to weather or not they were serious about this? Everything is kept a secret I do not know if they really want me back. I really wanted to join greek life and was majorly turned down and depressed by this. I couldnt understand, If they didnt want me why give me a bid in the first place?

LaneSig 04-10-2008 09:15 AM

Never heard of this situation. How badly do you want to belong to this chapter? If you want it bad enough, do what they are asking you to do.

Zillini 04-10-2008 09:51 AM

Never heard of anything like this happening before. Sounds like bids were "issued" before a chapter vote had been taken. The pledgemaster may have jumped the gun. That's not cool.

I admit I don't know nearly enough about IFC policies and the vast majority of my NPC experience is with formal Recruitment. This was a verbal bid, not written and the OP didn't mention signing anything. However it did come from the pledgemaster who is an official representative of the chapter.

I honestly don't know if it would be binding or not. Sorry I can't help but I am interested to learn from those who do know.

33girl 04-10-2008 10:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zillini (Post 1632015)